Your Browser is no longer supported
Please Upgrade to a modern browser



Try Our New Customer Payment Portal!

Flagg Creek Water Reclamation District is proud to announce a new online payment process to pay your sewer bill. Starting immediately, you can now register for our new online system and payment options.

About Us

The Flagg Creek Water Reclamation District (FCWRD), previously known as the Hinsdale Sanitary District, was formed under the Sanitary District Act of 1917. The District's mandate is to provide sewer collection, conveyance, and treatment of sanitary waste in order to protect the health and welfare of the communities it serves.

Flagg Creek Water Reclamation District plant Over the years, as a result of residential and commercial development in DuPage County, the District expanded its service area to include either all or parts of 11 different communities: Clarendon Hills, Oakbrook Terrace, Burr Ridge, Hinsdale, Darien, Willowbrook, Elmhurst, Westmont, Oak Brook, Villa Park, and Lombard. The District serves an area of approximately 24 square miles. FCWRD also owns and operates 22 lift stations in its service area. The District has approximately 300 miles of sewer mains tributary to its wastewater treatment plant. The John McElwain water reclamation plant, located in Burr Ridge, IL has a design capacity of 12 million gallons per day (mgd) with a maximum tertiary treatment capacity of 30 mgd. The District also operates an excess flow facility with a rated capacity of 42 mgd. The 12 mgd plant will accommodate up to 120,000 population equivalents based on a 100 gallons per day (gpd) / capita consumption.


7001 North Frontage Road, Burr Ridge, IL